Kyle James Hauser is a songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and singer. He was born in Alexandria, Virginia on March 14, 1985. He is a graduate of the Berklee College of Music with a degree in Songwriting and performs what American Songwriter described as, "neo-folk" on banjo, guitar and voice.

Hauser began performing his original songs in 2011 and that year was a finalist at the Telluride Bluegrass Festival's troubadour contest as well as The Rocky Mountain Folk Festival and made showcase performances at CMJ and The Toronto International Film Festival.

In January, 2012 he released his debut album "Oh Oh" on sonaBLAST! Records with a lineup including cellist Ben Sollee, guitarist Grant Gordy (David Grisman Quintet), producer Jayme Stone, and Grammy winning mastering engineer David Glasser. Songs from "Oh, Oh" have been featured on MTV's series 16 & Pregnant and Teen Mom and in the feature films YERT2nd Serve, and A Strange Brand of Happy. Hauser has since toured extensively, including a showcase at SXSW and opening performances for Brett Dennen, Mayer Hawthorne, The Head and The Heart and John Hiatt.

Lighting easily from earthy alt-county portraits to pulsing retro-rock to hints of township jive, his newest release ”You A Thousand Times" (3/25/14) draws listeners in over and over with sincere songwriting, superb musicianship and a halo of backup singing. it features producer Jayme Stone, Grant Gordy (David Grisman Quartet), Alwyn Robinson (Leftover Salmon), Eric Thorin (Matt Flinner Trio), Ayo Awosika, and Natalie Tate (Ark Life).


You a Thousand Times (sonaBLAST! Records, 2014)
Oh Oh (sonaBLAST! Records, 2012)

Music in Film and TV


Split (Derby City Productions, TBD)
End Of The Line (Wilder Productions, 2015)
Creditors (Tough Dance Productions, 2015)
Where Hope Grows (2014)
A Strange Brand of Happy (Rebel Pilgrim Productions, 2013)
2nd Serve (The Group Entertainment, 2013)
YERT (Media Changing Media, 2012)


16 and Pregnant (MTV, 2012)
Teen Mom (MTV, 2012)

Also Appears on

Crooked Road - Rapidgrass Quintet (banjo/voice/songwriting, 2015)
Belle 100 Steamboat Songs (sonaBLAST! Records, 2014)
Self Titled - Rapidgrass Quintet (banjo/voice, 2013)
Self Titled - Lee Ave (producer/guitar/voice, 2012)
Live for Today - The Drunken Hearts (banjo, 2012)
Lexicon - Will Knox (banjo, 2012)
Misfit - Rob Roper (banjo, 2011)
The Matador and the Acrobat - Will Knox (banjo, 2010)
Self Titled - Head for the Hills (banjo, 2010)
Unpredictable - John McVey (banjo, 2010)
Hearts, Words and Other Forgotten Things - Ayo Awosika (banjo, 2009)
Another City - Brooke Parrott (banjo, 2008)
Buckled Knees - Will Knox (banjo, 2007)
Self Titled - Caitlin Nicol-Thomas (banjo, 2007)
Last Call Poets - Audible Audities (banjo, 2007)
Self Titled - Johnny Vs The Ninjas (guitar/vocals, 2006)